Straight & Narrow

February 15, 2007

The Cowardly

Filed under: Uncategorized — imattbell @ 12:40 pm

Revelation 21.8 (ESV) “But as for the cowardly…their portion will be in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur, which is the second death.”

I get questioned all the time about that wonderful subject called “dating.” Even more so with Valentines Day! “Why have you not asked anyone. Why don’t you just take a girl out. Why don’t you do this or do that.”

A good friend challenged me 2 or 3 weeks ago about fear. He thought after talking to me that I was afraid to pursue girls. As I drove home from the meeting, I couldn’t get that thought out of my head! Was I being afraid? Getting read for bed I looked up at Scripture that I have pasted on my walls and one of them was Revelation 21.8; one word stuck out-Cowardly.

I couldn’t get my thoughts off that word the whole next day, then to make matters worse I got an e-mail from Focus on the Family that talked about, you guessed it, being bold in leading relationships! I was stuck. Was I being a coward? Was I stuck in fears and failures of past failed relationships?

See, we tend to get a message like this and come to a brash conclusion, which, as usually happens, I do. Yet, in my spirit, I knew I had missed something. I knew that I had “put the cart before the horse” and not until a few days ago did I figure out why!

2 Sides of Cowardice

The first side of Cowardice, the one that Revelation obviously is referring to, is also translated: Fear. The Greek word is ‘deilos’, which comes from the root word ‘deos’. Which can be translated ‘dread’ or ‘faithlessness’. This cowardice applies to anything and everything in life. When you do not live like God is master, you are living like someone else is. Which the Bible states is what Cowardice is, living in fear other then the fear of God!

I thought of this ‘fear’ right away. Was I doing this? Was I being a coward and not living my life like God would want me to live? Was I putting the fear of other relationships (fear of men) over the fear of God? Then it hit me, this could not be it! It was then I met the other side of the coin.

The other type of fear/cowardice is in the prescense of God. We are told constantly that the man of God fears God. In fact this fear is the beginning of wisdom. (Ps. 111.10) So if we take the word found in Revelation, fear/faithlessness, how can we apply this to a boy/girl relationship. If we live in the fear of the Lord, then shouldn’t that mean the opposite of living like a coward. As in living without fear and living with Faith. What does this Faith look like? Luke 12.22 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life”.

The fear of the Lord is not a fear that cripples us but it is a fear that allows us to call out Abba Father. (Mt. 6.6) God then, who controls my life by my own choosing, if I honor and live for Him, will provide for me when I need it. This applies to every aspect of my life, even my dating. It is fear that kept me from dating or going out, not of man but of God. Because He did not speak to me on it, He did not lead me to it, He did not allow me to do it. It is this fear that kept me. “Treat younger women, like sisters, in all purity.” (1 Tim. 5.2) This wasn’t a “maybe”, this wasn’t just “physically”, (Remember Jesus; If you think it you do it!) you are to treat all women like sisters, in all purity. I would lead my sister (if I had one) to believe something that was not true!

There are two types of cowardly and it wasn’t the first one that led me to my conclusions on ‘dating’ and would then apply to other aspects of my life such as faith, but a fear of the One who holds Tomorrow and walks with me through it! Which fear are you living in?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

